search in site
 Paoline (ENGLISH) » Who We are » The Pauline Family  
The Pauline Family    versione testuale

Prompted by the Spirit, Fr. Alberione founded a number of Institutes between 1914 and 1959. Known as the Pauline Family, all are connected to one another by the same spirituality and by a profound bond of communion. Speaking about this intense relationship, our Founder said: “There is a strong family bond among us because we were all born from the Tabernacle. We all share the same spirit, namely: to live Jesus Christ and serve the Church.”

The Pauline Family is made up of five religious Congregations, one Lay Association and four Secular Institutes.
The Congregations:

The Society of St. Paul (1914): a religious Congregation dedicated to the dissemination of the Christian message in the world and culture of communications, utilizing all the technologies of communication, including the newest ones.
The Daughters of St. Paul (1915) (Paulines): a Congregation of consecrated women religious who evangelize with the instruments of social communication. Present on all the world’s continents, the Daughters of St. Paul dedicate their lives to proclaiming the Gospel with the ardor of the Apostle Paul, from whom they take their name and missionary style.
The Pious Disciples of the Divine Master (1924): the contemplative branch of the Pauline Family. Attentive to the needs of the Church, they carry in their hearts the universal dimension of the Pauline mission and communicate Jesus Master through an apostolate centered on the Eucharist, the Liturgy and service to priests.
The Sisters of Jesus the Good Shepherd (1938): known as the Pastorelle Sisters, their work in the Church is to accompany the growth of the people of God through their collaboration with priests and all those who carry out pastoral ministries.
The Institute of Mary, Queen of Apostles for the vocation  (1959): known as the Apostoline Sisters, they fulfill a new and original mission in the Church, namely: to help young people perceive the call of God and to reinforce and invigorate that call, focusing special attention on the vocation to the priesthood and the various forms of the consecrated life.
The Association of the Laity, known as the Pauline Cooperators (1917), is made up of adults and youth of both sexes who believe in the value of the Pauline charism and, while remaining in their own state in life, are united in spirit and works to the whole Pauline Family.
The Secular Institutes aggregated to the Society of St. Paul (1960) are composed of individuals who make the vows of poverty, chastity and obedience while remaining in their own spheres of life, work and apostolic commitment. These Institutes are:
-        the Institute of St. Gabriel the Archangel (the Gabrielites): consecrated men
-        the Institute of Mary Most Holy of the Annunciation (Annunciationists): consecrated women
-        the Institute of Jesus the Priest: diocesan priests and bishops
-        the Holy Family Institute: married couples
Anchored in a solid apostolic spirituality inspired by the Apostle Paul,
the Pauline Family strives to be “St. Paul alive today.”